CIMAC, Comunidade Intermunicipal do Alentejo Central

The Intermunicipal Community of the Central Alentejo is a collective entity of public law of an associative nature and territorial area and aims to carry out common interests to the municipalities that make up it. The Intermunicipal Community of the Central Alentejo is composed of the Municipalities of Alandroal, Arraiolos, Borba, Estremoz, Evora, Montemor-o-Novo, Mora, Mourcao, Portel, Redondo, Reguengos de Monsaraz, Vendas Novas, Viana do Alentejo and Vila Viosa. The Community corresponds to the Territorial Unit of Level III (NUT III) of the Central Alentejo, in accordance with Decree-Law No. 68/2008, of April 14.

The Intermunicipal Community of the Central Alentejo (CIMAC) is developing the Intermunicipal Plan for Adaptation to Climate Change of the Central Alentejo (PIAAC-AC).

The main objectives of PIAAC-AC are to make known in more depth the phenomenon of climate change in this Alentejo subregion, while identifying the options and measures necessary for the adaptation of populations, sectoral methods and practices, infrastructure and equipment, and the very functioning of public and private entities to future scenarios of extreme climate alterations and phenomena.

This Plan should also promote the integration of climate change adaptation in practice and in inter-municipal and municipal planning instruments, creating a culture of cross-cutting cooperation between the different sectors and socio-economic actors of the Central Alentejo.